2022 Participants selected for EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program

The Membership and Professional Development committee is pleased to announce that Dr. Amy Whitaker and Dr. Marc Beal are the 2022 EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program (NIIEP) Participants!

New investigators who have recently transitioned to independence are invited to apply to be part of the EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program


Applicants must:

  • Be involved in non-trainee research relevant to the EMGS mission.
  • Be new investigators (≤ 3 years) in research, academia, industry or government who have recently transitioned to independence.
  • Pay annual membership dues.


  • Attend at least two Annual Meetings during the five-year period.
  • Submit an abstract to the meetings they attend.
  • Co-chair a Symposium at one Annual Meeting of their choosing.
  • Join a Special Interest Group (SIG).
  • Become a member of an EMGS Committee by the fourth year of their program.
  • Try to publish in Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis.
  • Submit a brief yearly report to the EMGS Membership and Professional Development

Committee to inform the EMGS of their progress in meeting these expectations.


  • Laurie Svoboda Ph.D., University of Michigan School of Public Health (2021)
  • Elise Fouquerel Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (2021)
  • Andrea Lee, Ph.D., University of Vermont (2020)
  • Isabelle Racine Miousse, Ph.D., University of Arkansas (2020)
  • Michael G. Kemp, Ph.D., Wright State University (2019)
  • Luke Montrose, Ph.D., Boise State University (2019)
  • Christopher Faulk, Ph.D., University of Minnesota (2018)
  • Shobhan Gaddameedhi, Ph.D., Washington State University (2018)
  • Laurie Sanders, Ph.D., Duke University (2018)


Applications are solicited in January with a deadline of March 1st.  Individuals who have not already been selected for the program are strongly encouraged to apply each year that they are eligible.

Recent Stories
Congratulations to our 2023 Student and New Investigator Platform Award Winners

WOW: Investigator Spotlight: Dr. Yvonne Fondufe-Mittendorf – Exposures, Epigenetics and Cancer

Don't Miss Out! Early Bird Registration for the 2023 EMGS Annual Meeting Ends Soon 🐦📅