Participants selected for EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program

New investigators who have recently transitioned to independence are invited to apply to be part of the EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program. Meet the 2020 Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program Participants!


Dr. Isabelle Racine Miousse is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (Little Rock, Arkansas).

About her research: Dr. Miousse specializes in epigenetics, with a focus on methylation in cancer. Her lab studies fundamental differences in the requirements and utilization of the methyl donor and essential amino acid methionine between normal and cancer cells. Understanding these mechanisms may reveal novel avenues to prevent cancer, reduce toxicity, and improve survival rates in cancer patients.

Dr. Miousse is co-chair of the Epigenomics Special Interest Group.


Dr. Andrea Lee’s primary appointment is as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at the University of Vermont. She also serves as an assistant professor in UVM’s department of Chemistry and as a faculty member in the Cellular, Molecular, and Biomedical Sciences Program.

About her research: A persistent question in the field of DNA repair is how enzymes find a site of DNA damage amidst a large excess of highly similar undamaged DNA bases. We utilize single molecule microscopy methods to observe individual DNA repair enzymes in real time as they search for and interact with sites of DNA damage. Through these studies, we explore how enzyme search deficiencies may contribute to altered DNA repair efficiency and thereby affect the progression of cancer and other diseases.

Dr. Lee will join the DNA Repair and Mutagenic Mechanisms Special Interest Groups.

Recipients will receive a commitment to cover their EMGS Annual Meeting registration waiver plus travel costs (four hotel nights and airfare offset) for as many as three years during their five-year program.



Applicants must:

  • Be involved in non-trainee research relevant to the EMGS mission.
  • Be new investigators (≤ 3 years) in research, academia, industry or government who have recently transitioned to independence.
  • Pay annual membership dues.



  • Attend at least two Annual Meetings during the five-year period.
  • Submit an abstract to the meetings they attend.
  • Co-chair a Symposium at one Annual Meeting of their choosing.
  • Join a Special Interest Group (SIG).
  • Become a member of an EMGS Committee by the fourth year of their program.
  • Try to publish in Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis.
  • Submit a brief yearly report to the EMGS Membership and Professional Development Committee to inform the EMGS of their progress in meeting these expectations.



Michael G. Kemp, Ph.D., Wright State University (2019)

Luke Montrose, Ph.D., Boise State University (2019)

Christopher Faulk, Ph.D., University of Minnesota (2018)

Shobhan Gaddameedhi, Ph.D., Washington State University (2018)

Laurie Sanders, Ph.D., Duke University (2018)



Applications are solicited in January with a deadline of March 1st.  Individuals who have not already received the award are strongly encouraged to apply each year that they are eligible.

Recent Stories
EMGS 2020: Monday events include EMGS Award, start of Platform Sessions

Welcome to the EMGS 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

EMGS now part of Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)