Participants selected for EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program

New investigators who have recently transitioned to independence are invited to apply to be part of the EMGS Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program. Meet the 2021 Newly Independent Investigator Engagement Program Participants!

Dr. Laurie Svoboda is a Research Assistant Professor of Environmental Health Sciences in the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

About her research: Dr. Svoboda's research is focused on understanding how early life toxicant exposures and nutritional perturbations influence the long-term risk of cardiovascular disease via epigenetic and metabolic mechanisms. She is particularly interested in sex-specific mechanisms of epigenetic programming and toxicity. 

Dr. Svoboda will join the Epigenomics and the Women in EMGS Special Interest Groups.

Dr. Elise Fouquerel is an Assistant Professor at Thomas Jefferson University and Sidney Kimmel Medical College in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

About her research: The overarching goal of the research undertaken in Dr. Fouquerel's laboratory is to understand the cellular mechanisms that lead to genomic instability, focusing on regions of the genome especially vulnerable to harmful environmental exposures. Her lab particularly focuses on defining the roles of PARP enzymes in orchestrating the maintenance of both telomere and centromere integrity when exposed to chronic oxidative stress. Current research hypotheses, are addressed using an innovative chemoptogenetic tool to locally induce oxidative DNA lesions along with a set of biochemical, molecular, and cell biological approaches.

Dr. Fouquerel has been a member of the DNA Repair Special Interest Group since 2015.

Participants will receive a commitment to cover their EMGS Annual Meeting registration waiver plus travel costs (four hotel nights and airfare offset) for as many as three years during their five-year program.


Applicants must:

  • Be involved in non-trainee research relevant to the EMGS mission.
  • Be new investigators (≤ 3 years) in research, academia, industry or government who have recently transitioned to independence.
  • Pay annual membership dues.


  • Attend at least two Annual Meetings during the five-year period.
  • Submit an abstract to the meetings they attend.
  • Co-chair a Symposium at one Annual Meeting of their choosing.
  • Join a Special Interest Group (SIG).
  • Become a member of an EMGS Committee by the fourth year of their program.
  • Try to publish in Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis.
  • Submit a brief yearly report to the EMGS Membership and Professional Development

Committee to inform the EMGS of their progress in meeting these expectations.


  • Andrea Lee, Ph.D., University of Vermont (2020)
  • Isabelle Racine Miousse, Ph.D., University of Arkansas (2020)
  • Michael G. Kemp, Ph.D., Wright State University (2019)
  • Luke Montrose, Ph.D., Boise State University (2019)
  • Christopher Faulk, Ph.D., University of Minnesota (2018)
  • Shobhan Gaddameedhi, Ph.D., Washington State University (2018)
  • Laurie Sanders, Ph.D., Duke University (2018)


Applications are solicited in January with a deadline of March 1st.  Individuals who have not already been selected for the program are strongly encouraged to apply each year that they are eligible.

Recent Stories
ICEM 2022 Program

The ICEM 2022 Program Preview is here!

1st Adverse Outcome Pathways Community of Practice Symposium – 2022