2018 EMGS Annual Meeting Award Winners

2018 EMGS Award Winners

EMM Student and New Investigator Best Paper Awards

The Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis (EMM) Best Paper Awards are presented annually to a student and a new investigator and are chosen by the Editorial Board members of EMM based on papers accepted for publication in EMM in the calendar year. Each winner receives a cash prize, free registration to the following EMGS Annual Meeting, and a complimentary one-year EMGS membership.

New Investigator:
Luke Montrose, University of Michigan
Perinatal Lead (Pb) Exposure Results in Sex and Tissue-Dependent Adult DNA Methylation Alterations in Murine IAP Transposons

Rosemarie de la Rosa, University of California, Berkeley
Associations between Arsenic (13Oxidation State) Methyltransferase (AS3MT) and N-6 Adenine-specific DNA Methyltransferase1 (N6AMT1) Polymorphisms, Arsenic Metabolism, and Cancer Risk in a Chilean Population
Sabrina Wilder, Bayer AG, Berlin, Germany
Classification of In Vitro Genotoxicants Using a Novel Multiplexed Biomarker Assay Compared to the Flow Cytometric Micronucleus Test


Student and New Investigator Presentation Awards

Students and new investigators who submit abstracts for poster and/or oral presentations are automatically entered in the best presentation/poster competition. A total of eight presentation awards were given: the best and runner up platform presentation by a student and a new investigator, respectively, and the best and runner up poster presentation by a student and a new investigator, respectively.

New Investigator Poster
First Place: Ji-Eun Seo, US Food and Drug Administration, NCTR
Second Place: Yax Thakkar, Research Institute for Fragrance Materials

Student Poster
First Place: Gwen Tindula, University of California, Berkeley
Second Place: Deborah Onofrei, Northeastern Illinois University

New Investigator Platform
First Place: Kelly Harris, US Food and Drug Administration, NCTR
Second Place: Mark Wilson, Tulane University

Student Platform
First Place: Eunnara Cho, Health Canada
Second Place: Juan Trujillo, Rice University


Student and New Investigator Travel Awards

Graduate students and new investigators are eligible for Travel Awards, which provide partial support to attend the EMGS Annual Meeting. These travel awards are based primarily on merit. A student from a developing country currently enrolled in a graduate degree program in the USA or Canada is eligible to receive the Alexander Hollaender Travel Award.

SNI Travel Award.jpg

Khadijeh Alnajjar, Yale University
Ryan Barnes, University of Pittsburgh
Nicholas Boehler, University of Western Ontario
Eunnara Cho, Health Canada
Mathia  Colwell, University of Minnesota
Panshak Dakup, Washington State University
Melissa Drown, University of Minnesota
Kelly Harris, US Food and Drug Administration, NCTR
Rachel Kelly, University of Western Ontario
Allyson Koyen, Emory University
Eduardo Laverde, Florida International University
Wentao Li, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Alexandra Long, Health Canada
Carly McCabe, University of Michigan
Elizabeth Minten, Emory University
Kelechi Okeke, University of the West of England
Deborah Onofrei, Northeastern Illinois University
Sumira  Phatak, Utah State University
Gurjit Randhawa, University of Western Ontario
Kathiresan Selvam, Louisiana State University
Maximillian Soltysiak, University of Western Ontario
Gwen Tindula, University of California, Berkeley
Juan Rodrigo Trujillo, Houston Methodist Research Institute
Velmarini Vasquez, Houston Methodist Research Institute
Nicole Wanner, University of Minnesota
Amy Whitaker, University of Kansas Medical Center
Emily Woolard, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Andre Luiz Ventura Savio, Sao Paulo State University


Young Scientist Award

The Young Scientist Award is an exciting opportunity for new investigators to showcase their talent to the EMGS community, while also communicating the importance of their research to the public.

SNI Travel Award.jpg

Aishwarya Prakash, University of South Alabama, Mitchell Cancer Institute


Alexander Hollaender Award

Conferred annually in recognition of outstanding contributions in the application of the principles and techniques of environmental mutagenesis to the protection of human health.

SNI Travel Award.jpg

Robert H. Heflich, PhD., US Food and Drug Administration, NCTR


EMGS Award

Conferred annually in recognition of outstanding research contributions in the area of environmental mutagenesis.

Emerging Scientist Award

Kenneth H. Kraemer, PhD., National Institute of Health


EMGS Service Award

Conferred occasionally in recognition of long-standing dedication and service to the Society.

Emerging Scientist Award

Suzanne M. Morris PhD., Emeritus
*note: Dr. Morris was not present to receive award. Dr. Manjanatha stood in on behalf of her.


EMGS Education Award

Emerging Scientist Award

Barbara L. Parsons, PhD., US Food and Drug Administration, NCTR


Emerging Scientist Award

Travel award to attend the EMGS Annual Meeting to an outstanding student or new investigator. Chosen by each of our four sister societies, GTA, GETA, GEMS, and the Midwest DNA Repair Group.

Emerging Scientist Award

Tatiana Moiseeva, University of Pittsburgh
Alexandra Long, Health Canada

A BIG congratulations to everybody!

Recent Stories
EMGS 2020: Monday events include EMGS Award, start of Platform Sessions

Welcome to the EMGS 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting

EMGS now part of Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)