2017 Award Winners

2017 EMGS Award Winners

EMM Student and New Investigator Best Paper Awards

The Environmental and Molecular Mutagenesis (EMM) Best Paper Awards are presented annually to a student and a new investigator and are chosen by the Editorial Board members of EMM based on papers accepted for publication in EMM in the calendar year. Each winner receives a cash prize, free registration to the following EMGS Annual Meeting, and a complimentary one-year EMGS membership.

New Investigator
Nikolai Chepelev, Ph.D.
Transcriptional Profiling of the Mouse Hippocampus Supports an NMDAR-Mediated Neurotoxic Mode of Action for Benzo[a]Pyrene

Alexandra Long
Oral Exposure to Commercially Available Coal Tar-Based Pavement Sealcoat Induces Murine Genetic Damage and Mutations


Student and New Investigator Presentation Awards

Students and new investigators who submit abstracts for poster and/or oral presentations are automatically entered in the best presentation/poster competition. A total of eight presentation awards were given: the best and runner up platform presentation by a student and a new investigator, respectively, and the best and runner up poster presentation by a student and a new investigator, respectively.

SNI Presentation Awards.jpg

New Investigator Poster
First place: Cynthia Sakofsky, NIEHS
Second Place: Elise Fouquerel, University of Pittsburgh

Student Poster
First place: Norah Owiti, UTHSCH
Second Place: Mathia Colwell, University of Minnesota

New Investigator Platform
First place: Amy Whitaker, KUMC
Second Place: Nate W Holton, Mitchell Cancer Institute

Student Platform
First place: Tess Leuthner, Duke University
Second Place: Le Ngo, MIT


Student and New Investigator Travel Awards

Graduate students and new investigators are eligible for Travel Awards, which provide partial support to attend the EMGS Annual Meeting. These travel awards are based primarily on merit. A student from a developing country currently enrolled in a graduate degree program in the USA or Canada is eligible to receive the Alexander Hollaender Travel Award.

SNI Travel Award.jpg

Amy Whitaker, KUMC
Benjamin Kopp, INRA/ANSES
Freda Qi, University of Western Ontario
Gwen Tindula, University of California, Berkeley
Isabelle Miousse, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Katerina Honkova, Institution of Experimental Medicine CAS
Katherine Dunnick, ScitoVation LLC
Kaushlendra Tripathi, Mitchell Cancer Institute
Kelly Smith, University of South Alabama Mitchell Cancer Institute
Lauren Matelski, University of California, Davis
Le Ngo, MIT
Lucy Petrova, National Cancer Institute-Frederick
Mallory Smith, KUMC
Mathia Colwell, University of Minnesota
Matthew Summerlin, University of Illinois at Chicago
Mayur Krishna, University of Maryland
Nicholas Boehler, University of Western Ontario
Norah Owiti (Hollaender Travel Award), UTHSCH
Sneh Toprani, Harvard T H Chan School of Public Health
Soumayadeep Sarkar, Washington State University
Sumira Phatak, Utah State University
Tania Alonso-Vasquez, UNAM
Terry Blaszczak, Northeastern Illinois University
Yaou Ren, Florida International University


Young Scientist Award

The Young Scientist Award is an exciting opportunity for new investigators to showcase their talent to the EMGS community, while also communicating the importance of their research to the public using a fun crowdfunding video!


Natalie Saini, NIEHS


Alexander Hollaender Award

Conferred annually in recognition of outstanding contributions in the application of the principles and techniques of environmental mutagenesis to the protection of human health.


Radim J. Sram, MD, DSc, Institution of Experimental Medicine AS Czech Republic


EMGS Award

Conferred annually in recognition of outstanding research contributions in the area of environmental mutagenesis.


Peter J. McKinnon, PhD, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital


EMGS Service Award

Conferred occasionally in recognition of long-standing dedication and service to the Society.


Robert Young, MS, BioReliance Corporation


Emerging Scientist Award

Travel award to attend the EMGS Annual Meeting to an outstanding student or new investigator. Chosen by each of our four sister societies, GTA, GETA, GEMS, and the Midwest DNA Repair Group.


Colette Miller, US EPA

1 Like
Recent Stories
Congratulations to Aishwarya Prakash, our 2018 EMGS Young Scientist Award Winner

EMGS Meeting Registration Deadlines

2018 EMGS Keynote address Open to the Public with Dr. Marc Edwards