EMGS Award

This award is conferred in recognition of outstanding research contributions in the area of environmental mutagenesis.

Nominations Deadline: December 10


  • EMGS membership is not required
  • Relevance of the work to the EMGS mission
  • Scientific activity in the area of the causes and mechanistic bases of DNA damage and repair, mutagenesis, heritable effects, epigenetic alterations in genome function, and their relevance to disease measured by the number of publications, invited speaker and or guest lecturer and/or previous awards.
  • Service to the professional community (EMGS and/or others) and/or the general public 

Who can nominate:

Any EMGS member and members of the scientific community

What to submit:

One letter of nomination, addressing the criteria mentioned above
At least one supporting letter (maximum of 3 supporting letters)
CV or biographical sketch of the nominee

Upload Your Nomination

EMGS Award Past Recipients:

Sankar Mitra (2023)
Karen Vasquez (2022)

Richard Wood (2021)
Curtis Harris (2020)
Jan Hoeijmakers (2019)
Kenneth H. Kraemer (2018)
Peter J. McKinnon (2017)
Joann B. Sweasy (2016)
Myron F. Goodman (2015)
James R. Lupski (2014)
Peter J. Stambrook (2013)
Susan S. Wallace (2012)
Arthur P. Grollman (2011)
Samuel H. Wilson (2010)
James E. Cleaver (2009)
Larry H. Thompson (2008)
Jeffrey H. Miller (2007)
Graham C. Walker (2006)
Satya Prakash and Louise Prakash (2005)
A.T. Natarajan (2004)
John A. Heddle (2003)
Richard Setlow (2002)
Leona Samson (2001)
Miroslav Radman (2000)
James Neel (1999)

Larry Loeb (1998)
Tom Kunkel (1997)
William R. Lee (1996)
Veronica M. Maher 
John Cairns (1994)
Liane B. Russell (1993)
Philip C. Hanawalt (1992)
Ernest H.Y. Chu (1991)
Evelyn Witkin (1990)
William A. Russell (1989)
James F. Crow (1988)
John W. Drake (1987)
Louis Siminovitch (1986)
Philip E. Hartman (1985)
Robert H. Haynes (1984)
Tao-Chiuh Hsu (1983)
Sheldon Wolff (1982)
Theodore Thomas Puck (1981)
Heinrich V. Malling (1980)
Frederick J. de Serres (1979)
Takashi Sugimura (1978)
Bruce N. Ames (1977)
Frederik H. Sobels (1976)
Ernst Freese (1974)
Charlotte Auerbach (1972)