EMGS Student and New Investigator Travel Awards

Students and New Investigators are the future of our Society. An EMGS priority is to foster the career development of students and postdoctoral level investigators, helping them establish the long-term collaborative relationships that will make EMGS their professional home. Therefore, the EMGS offers a limited number of Student and New Investigator Travel Awards to assist students and new investigators to attend and participate in the EMGS Annual Meeting.

Students and new investigators (doctoral degrees within the past five years) are eligible for Travel Awards, which provide partial support to attend the EMGS Annual Meeting. Travel awards are based primarily on merit. The applicant must be a member of EMGS prior to the award application deadline. Membership can be obtained at any time via the EMGS website.

Application Requirements

  1. An abstract submitted to the current annual meeting.
  2. A letter of recommendation sent by the applicant’s current mentor/advisor sent to emgshq@emgs-us.org or submit it online in the application form below. (Recommended elements for mentor letters.)
  3. A statement written by the applicant (250 words maximum) describing how the applicant expects to benefit from a travel award to attend the EMGS meeting.
  4. Applicant must be an EMGS member.  Membership can be obtained at anytime via the EMGS website.

Travel Award Application Form

If your institution restricts the receipt of award monies, the most meritorious applications will still receive EMGS recognition without funding, when applicable.