EMGS Emeritus Travel Award

Application Deadline: March 31 

EMGS seeks to assist its emeritus members in staying engaged with the activities of the society. Because the expense of attending the annual meeting can be financially limiting for some emeritus members, the Council and Executive Board have created an Emeritus Travel Award. Qualifications for receiving the award are:

  • Emeritus membership status. Retired members who have not requested emeritus status should apply as soon as possible.
  • Full retirement - It is recognized that retired scientists may continue to receive earned income from consulting or other activities. Applicants should assess whether they have a financial need for an emeritus travel award before applying. If they are not certain they may consult with the EMGS Executive Director, Bob Bevans-Kerr, for advice.
  • Active participation in EMGS activities in the last 5 years.

Up to three awards of $500 will be granted for each annual meeting.

The application may be submitted between January 1 and March 31 for the annual meeting in the fall. Award decisions will be made by April 15 by the Membership and Professional Development Committee.

Awardees will provide a report to the Membership & Professional Development Committee (due October 31st) on their experience at the meeting and other activities in EMGS in which they are participating or anticipate participating in the year following the meeting.

Please contact EMGS at (emgshq@emgs-us.org) for questions about the award.

Application Form

EMGS Emeritus Travel Award Past Recipients:

George R. Douglas
David M. DeMarini
Errol Zeiger

B. Bhaskar Gollapudi, PhD
Philip C. Hanawalt, PhD
Ofelia Ana Olivero, PhD, ATS
Miriam C. Poirier, PhD
Barbara S. Shane